In 2004, Florida voters approved a constitutional amendment that increases the state minimum wage each year based on inflation. Florida voters will again decide in November 2020 if the state’s minimum wage should be increased to $15 per hour using the ballot process supported by Orlando, Florida attorney John Morgan.
This ballot proposal, known publicly in Florida as Amendment 2, would increase the minimum wage to $10 an hour on September 30, 2021 and subsequently increase by $1 per hour each year until it reaches $15 on September 30, 2026.
Proposed Florida Voters Ballot Initiative
% Increase of Minimum Wage
All the employers in the State of Florida must pay their employees the hourly state minimum wage for all the hours worked in Florida. If any employer does not pay their employees the required minimum wage, they can bring a civil action against the employer or any individual violating the Florida minimum wage law.
Frequently Asked Questions on Florida Minimum Wage and Labor Laws:
What is Florida minimum wage in 2021?
The minimum wage in Florida for 2021 is $8.65 per hour. However it is scheduled to increase to $15.00 per hour by 2026 based on the Florida voters proposal called Amendment 2 (2020)
What is the minimum wage for tipped employees in Florida?
According to the Florida’s department of Labor, the minimum wage for tipped employees in the state of Florida for 2021 is $5.68 per hour.
Why does Florida Restaurant and Lodging Association (FRLA) oppose a $15.00 per hour minimum wage?
FRLA is aware of the hospitality workers who are the face of the tourism industry and they are the ones who keep visitors coming back by creating memorable experiences for them. They do deserve fair and competitive wages, but a 77% increase in labor costs is not sustainable for the hospitality industry. In order to address such drastic cost increase, businesses will cut employee hours and increase automation.