Editing or submitting time on behalf of a report

Depending on your permissions, you may be able to edit or submit timesheets on behalf of your direct reports. You might need to do this to keep your reports’ timesheets moving through the approval process, so that clients can be invoiced, project costs reconciled, and payroll processed in a timely manner.

You may also be able to delete timesheets belonging to your direct reports, although we don’t typically recommend doing this as it can disrupt the timesheet’s audit trail.

Editing a timesheet

To edit a report’s timesheet:

  1. Go to Team > Timesheets.
  2. View the timesheet you want to reopen by clicking the name of the item’s owner.

You can filter by the Waiting For My Approval or Not Submitted approval status, user name, and date range, if necessary, to find the timesheet.

  1. Click the Edit button located at the top of the page.

  1. Make the needed changes, and click Save.
  2. Click the Submit Changes or Submit button, as applicable.

If you are the timesheet’s only approver, the timesheet will be automatically approved once you submit it, as your approval is implied.

Submitting a timesheet

To submit a report’s timesheet:

  1. Go to Team > Timesheets.
  2. View the timesheet you want to submit by clicking the name of the item’s owner.

You can filter by the Not Submitted approval status, user name, and date range, if necessary, to find the timesheet.

  1. Click the Submit button at the top of the page.

If you are the timesheet’s only approver, the timesheet will be automatically approved once you submit it, as your approval is implied.

Deleting a timesheet

We don’t recommend deleting timesheets, since this could interfere with the time entry audit trail. The ability to delete a timesheet is not a system default for supervisors, so you may not have permission to delete timesheets.

To delete a timesheet:

  1. Go to Team > Timesheets.
  2. View the timesheet you want to submit by clicking the name of the item’s owner.

Filter, if necessary, to find the timesheet you want to delete.

  1. Select the check box for the timesheet you wish to delete.

  1. Click the Delete button located at the top of the page.

FAQs

How will the user know if I submitted, edited, or deleted their timesheet?

If you make changes to a timesheet, the user will receive an email notifying them that it was edited, assuming this notification is enabled for the user.

If you submit a timesheet on a user’s behalf, when they receive notice that it was approved, that email will indicate who the timesheet was submitted by.

No notice is sent if a timesheet is deleted.

Can I edit an approved timesheet?

If a timesheet is already approved, you may be able to reopen it and make changes.

Can I have the timesheet’s owner make changes to it instead of me?

If changes aren’t needed urgently, or you want the user to be directly accountable for their own edits, you can reject timesheets instead of editing them yourself. In this case, the user can make the necessary changes and resubmit.

Can I convert a user’s overtime to time off in lieu on their behalf?

If you can edit the user’s timesheet, you should be able to convert their overtime to time off.

Can I edit timesheets after they've been invoiced?

Yes, providing the Prevent Changes to Invoiced Timesheets workflow condition isn’t enabled in the timesheet’s template. Refer to Correcting billing errors for more information.