Creating and exporting a time data export

Once you've selected and reviewed the data you'd like to export, you can 'freeze' data into an export'. Then, you can do a final review of that data and mark the export as Complete before exporting it.

Creating a time data export

The data included in an export is ‘frozen’, meaning it will not update if users reopen and modify timesheets with data included in the export. This allows you the opportunity to review all of the data without worrying it might change during or after your review. Any changes users make to the export will be saved as adjustments you can include in a future export.

Data freezing only applies to time data; approval statuses and user data are not frozen, and always show the current value. Groups always show the historical value in effect at the time of the entry.

To create an export:

  1. Go to Cost > Time Workbench.
  2. Select and review the data you plan to export.

Only time data that displays in the data grid is included in the export; time data in hidden columns is not included.

  1. Click the Create Export button.

This freezes the time data you’ve selected in a Draft state.

An auto-incrementing export number displays. You can manually overwrite this number if you want to, and add a description of the export, if desired.

  1. Now you can finalize your data. Sort data, as needed.

You can remove columns and filter by user when reviewing time data, although you can't add data to the export. These filtering options are available so you can review data retroactively, after data is exported.

If you remove users or columns, only the data that displays will download, but all data and filter settings will be saved for that export. We don't recommend that you filter or remove columns from the export before carrying out the final export since that would make the export status of time data difficult to track.

  1. Once you’re satisfied the time data is complete and accurate, click Mark as Complete.

This will update the export’s status to Complete. This has no effect on the data; you can click Revert to Draft to revert the status at any point. The purpose of the export status is to help you keep track of which exports you’ve finished reviewing and are ready for final export.

If you prefer, you can mark exports as Complete when you've finished exporting them.


Exporting time data

Before completing export of a frozen export, be sure the download format you plan to use has been added to your system. You can export a saved, frozen export at any time, even if you haven’t marked it as Complete, although we recommend marking exports as Complete before you finally export them.

To export time data:

  1. Go to Cost > Time Workbench > Previous Exports.

Select the export from the list that displays.

  1. Click Export, and select the file format you want to use.

The file should download to your computer, ready for import into your third-party app.

FAQs

Why is the User filter available, but not the other filters?

The User filter is available so you can track export details for particular users retroactively.

Can I delete an export?

You can cancel any export that's in a Draft state. You can set Complete exports back to Draft, if needed, by clicking the Revert to Draft button.

To cancel an export, go to Previous Exports and select the draft's export number.

Then, click the Cancel Export link in the top, right-hand corner of the page. 

The export will be given a status of Canceled and data will be grayed out and will no longer be associated with the export – that is, that data will be returned to the time data pool. The export will also no longer display in the Time Workbench > Previous Exports page, but you can click the Show canceled exports option to see it, in case you need it for audit purposes.

Why can’t I click Create Export?

Try clicking Refresh Data – data must be current before you can create an export. Be sure that you've reviewed all of the updated data before creating the export.

Why aren't columns I can see onscreen showing up in my export file?

Your export file and onscreen grid will match exactly only if all of the columns you've selected to view are enabled in the file format you're using. If, for example, you've included the Timesheet Period column onscreen, but that column wasn't selected to appear in the export file, it won't display in the export. The file format is the ultimate column limiter; be sure all columns you need in your export are included there.

Can I re-export a previous export or roll back an export?

Yes, you can re-export data you previously exported and you can cancel an export that is in Draft state.

Can I include the same data in multiple exports?

Yes, you can do this, although we don't recommend it. You'll see a warning message if you attempt to do this.

Does an export have to be marked as complete before it can be downloaded?

No. The ability to mark an export as complete is simply intended to help you keep track of whether or not you’ve completed your review of the data. Marking data as complete doesn’t enable export – you can complete export of exports with any status.