Idaho

Labor Compliance Guide

Hours & Pay Regulations

Normal Working Hours

A workweek is a period of 168 hours during seven consecutive 24-hour periods. It may begin on any day of the week and any hour of the day established by the employer. For the purpose of overtime payment, each workweek stands alone, there can be no averaging of two or more workweeks.

Overtime

No employer shall employ any employee longer than 40 hours in a workweek consisting of seven consecutive 24-hour periods unless such employee receives compensation for the employment in excess of 40 hours at a rate not less than 1 1/2 times the employee’s regular rate of pay.

Breaks

Idaho law does not require employers to give breaks or meal periods. Employees would only be entitled to breaks if it is the employer’s policy to provide them.

Annual Leave

Idaho does not have a paid annual leave law that applies generally to private employers. Annual leave if promised via agreement needs to be obliged.

Minimum Wage

Employers must pay employees at least $7.25 an hour. Commissions are included in minimum wage determinations. Before July 24, 2009, the minimum wage was $6.55 an hour. The amount of the minimum wage conforms to and tracks with, the federal minimum wage.

 

Employers can pay $4.25 per hour to employees under 20 years of age during the first 90 consecutive calendar days of employment. Employers cannot displace existing employees (including partial displacements such as reductions in hours, wages, or benefits) for the purpose of hiring individuals at the sub-minimum wage. Employers can pay workers with disabilities less than the minimum wage with a license from the Department of Labor. Apprentices or learners can be issued a special license authorizing payment of less than the minimum wage for the time and under the conditions determined by the department.

Tips & Gratuities

Employers must pay tipped employees at least $3.35 an hour. Employers must make up the difference if tips plus wages paid do not at least equal the minimum wage. Shared or pooled tips cannot be applied to the minimum wage.

Meal Breaks

Idaho law does not require employers to give breaks or meal periods. Employees would only be entitled to breaks if it is the employer’s policy to provide them.

Special Leave

Unpaid Leave
Employees may be eligible to take unpaid, job-protected, leave under the Family Medical Leave Act (“FMLA”). Please refer to the main United States page for further details on this Federal law.
Pregnancy Disability Leave

Employers must treat employees disabled by pregnancy, childbirth, or related medical conditions the same as any other employees with short-term disabilities for purposes of sick leave.

Military Leave

Any person who is a duly qualified member of the national guard or of the reserve components of the armed forces, who is a member of an organized unit and who, in order to receive military training with the armed forces of the United States, not to exceed fifteen (15) days in any one (1) calendar year, leaves a position other than employment of a temporary nature in the employ of any employer, and who shall give evidence defining date of departure and date of return for purposes of military training ninety (90) days prior to the date of departure and who shall further give evidence of the satisfactory completion of such training immediately thereafter, and who is still qualified to perform the duties of such position, shall be entitled to be restored to his previous or similar position with the same status, pay and seniority. Such seniority shall continue to accrue during such period of absence, and such period of absence for military training shall be construed as absence without leave and within the discretion of the employer.  The said leave may be with or without pay.

Jury Duty Leave

An employer shall not deprive an employee of his employment or threaten or otherwise coerce him with respect thereto, because the employee receives a summons, responds thereto, serves as a juror, or attends court for prospective jury service.

Donor Leave

Full-time state employees are allowed up to 30 days of paid leave for organ donation. (§67-5343).

Last updated on: February 7th, 2019