You can use the Replicon Import Add-in (RIA) to mass edit or delete data from your Replicon instance. If you use an Update templates, only the data you selected will be updated. And in the following cases, the new data will be appended the existing settings:
To update data using RIA, first log in to RIA, and then:
Changes you make using RIA cannot be reversed. Therefore, use caution when working with RIA, as it allows you to easily make changes to large amounts of live data that cannot be undone.
You can also use our in-app data import feature to add, edit, or delete projects, tasks, clients, project and task assignments, users, holidays, activities, and groups. It doesn't require installation, and is supported for use on Macs.
When you click Create Template, a Load Identifier dialog displays.
This dialog allows you to choose whether to automatically or manually populate the spreadsheet with identifier values, like user or project names, that identify the data you want to edit. Refer to the sections below for information about each option.
In either case, you’ll be able to load existing data from Replicon for the fields you want to import.
Identifier data will load. This may take a while if you’re loading lots of data.
A blank template will display.
Existing data will populate the spreadsheet.
Refer to About the RIA data entry features for tips on entering values in a RIA template.
When you’re ready to import your updated data, click the Update button.
An import dialog will display, with the status of the import.
Once the import is complete:
Refer to Adding data using RIA for information on troubleshooting errors in RIA.
Replicon’s user mass edit feature is still useful in cases when you’re applying the same changes to a small group of users, when it may not be worth it to load and set up RIA. If you’re importing large amounts of data, or you already have data saved in a spreadsheet, you should typically use RIA instead.
These fields identify the users whose data you want to update. Values for these fields cannot be updated unless you selected them when choosing fields to edit.
Yes, the value will be deleted, providing it isn’t a required field in Replicon.
Refer to Deleting and disabling data for more options for deleting data using RIA.
Yes, you can. But, when you click Get Data From Replicon after selecting new data rows, be sure to choose No in the Warning dialog that displays.
This will ensure any data you’ve updated but haven’t yet imported is retained. You can click Yes if you don't mind if changes you haven't imported are overwritten.
This field shows the user name by default, but you can paste login names into this field and update based on those.
Department and Resource Placeholder are listed as mandatory in the Add and Update templates for the following:
This is because, when setting up a project team, you can assign individual users, entire departments, or placeholders. Therefore, you must include at least one of these types of team member fields in any resource import. However, they are conditional fields since only one of the three types needs to be used in an import.
These fields can be used to help filter users. Refer to About the RIA data entry features for information on filtering data in RIA.