Scenario:
Web TimeSheet administrator wants to setup a user in such way that the user has the ability to run only expense reports and view the data of all the employees as well as the user should have the ability to take printouts of expense receipts. The user does not enter any time in the timesheet and is not an approver.

Resolution:
In order to accomplish this requirement a new permission in Web TimeSheet and modify the permission enabling the ability to view all the data only for the expense reports and the ability to edit historical expense sheets of other users. Assign the new permission profile to the user and disable any other permissions from the user's profile. Ensure the user has an expense seat assigned under the user profile. The user should now be able to run the expense reports on all the users' data and to view the historical expenses sheets. In-order to take printout of the expense receipts the user will have to edit expense sheets from historical expenses and then print them.

To create the new permission follow these steps:

  • Log into the Web TimeSheet as the Administrator.
  • Select Administration from the top menu bar.
  • Select Permissions from the left pane, under the Users/Departments category.
  • At the bottom click Add to add a new permission profile to Web TimeSheet.
  • Enter a name in the Name field of the Add New Permission page.
  • Expand the Administrator section, under the System tab of the permission.
  • Put a check mark in the Edit check box next to Historical Expenses sub-permission.
  • Expand the Reports section, under the Reports tab of the permission.
  • Put a check mark next to Can View All Report Data sub-permission.
  • Also put a check mark next to the Expense Reports section.
  • Click Save.

To assign the newly created permission to the user follow these steps:

  • Log into Web TimeSheet as the administrator.
  • Select Administration from the top menu bar.
  • Select Users from the left pane, under the Users/Departments category.
  • Click on the Edit button (represented by a notepad and pencil icon) next to user name in the List Users page.
  • Put a check mark next to the new permission profile, in the Permissions category, under the Access tab.
  • Click Save.