Summary:
An ex-employee has joined our company again. I have enabled his user profile. But when I try to change his primary department, I see that the Primary Department drop down list in his user profile shows “null”. When I select his new department in the drop down list and click Save, the changes do not get saved. When I check the list of users, his name is still associated with the old department, i.e. the department he was associated with before he was re-hired. Please see the attached screen shot for more information.

Solution:
The reason why the user’s primary department cannot be changed is because the user’s old department has been disabled in Web TimeSheet. To resolve the issue, enable the old department and you should be able to change the user’s department. Once the user’s primary department has been changed, you can disable the old department.