Currently, User Preferences cannot be updated from a global setting. The user preferences are controlled by the individual user. However, the settings done in Web TimeSheet > Administration > Users/Departments > Preferences section applies to new users added to the system. The new users will inherit the same settings as done in the Preferences section.