You will not be able to remove or disable the client column in timesheet if you have enabled any one of the option under Administration > System > System Preferences:

Allow projects with multiple clients – Bucket

When time is entered against any project using Bucket method the billing is calculated based on the client selection in timesheet. Hence this column becomes mandatory when bucket method is enabled.