If a user changes the value entered for a user defined field, your change will be applied to all timesheets in the system, even saved and approved ones. If a value doesn't show up on a historical timesheet, either the user defined field has been disabled, the timesheet owner doesn't have permission for the timesheet, or the field has been deleted.