An accrual is time that is added to a user's existing time off balance on a regular schedule. For each accrual you define, you can specify whether it should be prorated. Prorating means that users will accrue time, based on the accrual rate you specify, for the following time periods:

  • From the policy effective date to their first accrual
  • From their last accrual to the last day of the policy

Prorating reflects an "earned time off" approach to accruals – employees accrue based on time worked in the preceding accrual period. If you choose no prorating, the set, flat accrual amount will be added on each defined accrual day, regardless of how long the policy has been in effect, and no time will accrue on the last day of the policy (unless it falls on a set accrual day).

For more information, refer to How Time Off Accruals are Prorated in Replicon's online help.

 

Changing Prorating Settings at the System Level

If you edit settings for a time off type at the system level, the selected setting will only apply to newly-added users. To enable or disable prorating for a time off policy at the system level:

  1. Select Administration from the top menu, and then select Time Off Setup > Time Off Types from the side menu.
  2. Select the next to the time off type whose accruals you wish to edit.
  3. In the Default Policies for New Users section, expand the Accrue drop-down.
  4. Enable or disable the Prorate the beginning and end of the policy check box, as desired.
  5. Select Save

 

selecting prorating

Changing Prorating Settings for Individual Users

To enable or disable prorating for individual users:

  1. Select Administration from the top menu, and then select Shortcuts > Users from the side menu.
  2. Select the next to the user whose accruals you wish to edit.
  3. Select the Time Off tab.
  4. Click the Edit Historical Policies button for the policy you want to edit.
  5. Expand the Accrue drop-down.
  6. Enable or disable the Prorate the beginning and end of the policy check box, as desired.
  7. Select Save.