Blog Home

Global Compliance Desk – United States Minimum Wage

United States Minimum Wage

On January 1, 2020 (December 31, 2019, in New York) the minimum wage has increased in 21 states and 26 cities and counties. In 17 of those jurisdictions, the minimum wage has reached or surpassed $15 per hour. Effective July & September 2020, four more states and 23 additional localities will also raise their minimum wages 15 of them to $15 or more. This is the greatest number of states and localities ever to raise their wage floors, both in January and for the year as a whole.

Under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), the current federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour, but the FLSA does not supersede state or local minimum wage laws that are more favorable to employees. Therefore, if a state or municipality has a minimum wage that is higher than the federal minimum, employers subject to the state or local minimum wage law are obligated to pay a higher rate to employees working there. When a state or local minimum wage is lower than the federal minimum wage, the more favorable rate should be paid to the employee if they are covered under both the FLSA and state/local law.

State-wise – Minimum Wage 2020
State Minimum Wage 2020 Future Increase 2020
Alabama $7.25 No State Minimum Wage – Federal Applies
Alaska $10.19
Arizona $12.00
Arkansas $10.00
California $13.00 ($12.00 for smaller employers)
Colorado $12.00
Connecticut $12.00 (Effective Sep 1, 2020)
Delaware $9.25
District of Columbia $15.00 (Effective Jul 1, 2020)
Florida $8.56
Georgia*1 $7.25
Hawaii $10.10
Idaho $7.25
Illinois $9.25
Indiana $7.25
Iowa $7.25
Kansas $7.25
Kentucky $7.25
Louisiana $7.25 No State Minimum Wage – Federal Applies
Maine $12.00
Maryland $11.00
Massachusetts $12.75
Michigan $9.65
Minnesota****4 $10.00
Mississippi $7.25 No State Minimum Wage – Federal Applies
Missouri $9.45
Montana $8.65
Nebraska $9.00
Nevada***3 $8.00 rate is for Nevada employees who are offered health insurance. $9.00 rate is for Nevada employees who are not offered health insurance. (Effective Jul 1, 2020)
New Hampshire $7.25 No State Minimum Wage – Federal Applies
New Jersey $11.00 (Effective Jul 1, 2020)
New Mexico $9.00
New York**2 $11.80
North Carolina $7.25
North Dakota $7.25
Ohio $8.70
Oklahoma $7.25
Oregon $12.00 (Effective Jul 1, 2020)
Pennsylvania $7.25
Puerto Rico $6.55
Rhode Island $10.50
South Carolina $7.25 No State Minimum Wage – Federal Applies
South Dakota $9.30
Tennessee $7.25 No State Minimum Wage – Federal Applies
Texas $7.25
Utah $7.25
Vermont $10.96
Virginia $7.25
Washington $13.50
West Virginia $8.75
Wisconsin $7.25
Wyoming $7.25
  1. The Georgia state minimum wage is $5.15. Employees covered under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act are subject to the federal minimum wage of $7.25, but those not covered under the FLSA may be paid the state minimum wage of $5.15.
  2. New York statewide minimum wages apply in areas that are not governed by a higher, local minimum wage ordinance. New York City and Portland Metro are examples of areas that have local minimum wage rates that exceed the statewide minimum.
  3. In Minnesota, the $10.00 rate is for large employers. Small employers have a minimum wage of $8.15 per hour.
Cities and Counties Minimum Wage 2020
State City/County Minimum Wage 2020 Anticipated Change
Arizona Flagstaff $13.00
California Berkeley $15.59 + CPI Jul 1, 2020 
Cupertino $15.35
El Cerrito $15.37
Emeryville $16.30
Los Altos $15.40
Los Angeles $15.00 (Jul 1, 2020)
(26 or more employees)
Los Angeles $14.25 (Jul 1, 2020)
(25 or fewer employees)
Malibu $15.00 (Jul 1, 2020)
(26 or more employees)
Malibu $14.25 (Jul 1, 2020)
(25 or fewer employees)
Milpitas $15.00
Mountain View $16.05
Oakland $14.14
Palo Alto $15.40
Pasadena $14.25
(26 or more employees)
Pasadena (25 or less) $13.25
Redwood $15.38
Richmond $15.00
Sacramento $12.50
(101 or more employees)
Sacramento $11.00
(100 fewer employees)
San Diego $13.00
San Francisco $15.59
San Jose $15.25
San Leandro $15.00 (Jul 1, 2020)
San Mateo $15.38
Santa Clara $15.40
Santa Monica $15.00 (Jul 1, 2020)
(26 or more employees)
Santa Monica (25 or less) $14.25 (Jul 1, 2020)
Sunnyvale $16.05
Illinois Chicago $14.00 (Jul 1, 2020)
Cook County $13.00 (Jul 1, 2020)
Iowa Johnson City $10.25
Linn City $10.25
Polk City $10.75
Wapello $10.10
Kentucky Lexington $10.10
Louisville $9.00
Maine Portland $10.90
Maryland Montgomery County $13.25 (Jul 1, 2020)
(50 or fewer employees)
Montgomery County $14.00 (Jul 1, 2020)
(51 or more employees)
Montgomery County (10 or less) $13.00 (Jul 1, 2020)
Prince George’s County $11.50
Minnesota Minneapolis $13.25 (Jul 1, 2020)
(More than 100 Employees))
Minneapolis $11.75 (Jul 1, 2020)
(100 or Fewer Employees)
Saint Paul $12.50 (very large)
$9.86 (large empl.)
$8.04 (small empl.)
(without benefits)
Albuquerque $8.35
(with benefits)
Bernalillo County $9.20
Las Cruces $10.25
New York Long Island & Westchester Counties $13.00
New York City $15.00
(11 or more employees)
New York City $15.00
(10 or fewer employees)
All Other New York Cities $11.80
Oregon Non-Urban Counties $11.00
Portland $12.50
Washington Seattle (501 or more $16.39
employees)
Seattle (500 or less $13.50
employees, with benefits)
Seattle (500 or less $15.75
employees, without benefits)
Seattle (500 or less $13.50
employees, with benefits)
Seatac $16.34
Tacoma $13.50
Related Post

To personalize and improve your website experience this site uses cookies. By using replicon.com, you agree to our cookie policy.